1. A PREMIUM TECH NIGHT OWL LIVE EXPERIENCE! Welcome to Tech Night Owl+! For a low monthly or annual subscription fee, you will receive access to an ad-free version of The Tech Night Owl LIVE and other exclusive content. We now offer a direct RSS feed in The Tech Night Owl+ forums for easy updating of the latest episodes. And don't miss The Tech Night Own Minute! Forum members can subscribe now: https://www.technightowl.com/radio/introducing-tech-night-owl/

    Subscribe to The Tech Night Owl Newsletter!
    Dismiss Notice

macbook pro with texas instruments firewire chipset

Discussion in 'Mac Hardware Discussions' started by unasino, Apr 11, 2008.



  1. unasino

    unasino Technology Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi


    Please, do you know which macbook pro models(MA896LL/A,etc..)
    in 2007 and 2008 have "Texas instruments" or "Agere"
    firewire chipset?

    Overall between MA896LL and MA896LL/A (mid 2007 and late 2007)

    My TC Electronic Konnekt 8 don't work with agere chipset.

    Thanks
     
  2. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Forum Super Hero Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Writer, editor, talk show host
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Home Page:
    That's an odd question, and I don't know whether there's a consistent answer, because Apple is known to change suppliers during a product's production run.

    Are you sure this is a conflict with the Agere chipset? Have you tried another Mac?
     
  3. Jose Collado

    Jose Collado Guest

    You can find out what FW chipset you have by booting your mac and holding down "Command" and "s". It will have a whole lot of info but you will see the chipset somewhere. Just type exit when you're done and the mac will boot normally from there. This issue was logged with the manufacturer and users with the issue also had the lucent chipset.

    As Gene mentioned, try it on another Macbook or even an iMac. Also try using the AC plug instead of it being bus powered...if that's an option. Also, remove the Integrator.component that is installed with the Konnekt 8 software/plugin. If all else fails, try the consumer FAQ. I'm sure other have had this issue.

    Are you recording via Garageband? I am having issues with GB and I am honestly thinking of ditching it and getting a proconsumer app.
     
  4. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Forum Super Hero Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Writer, editor, talk show host
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Home Page:
    Additionally, if the computer is still under warranty (and I always recommend AppleCare for notebooks), maybe it's possible to have the computer in question checked by Apple to see if they're willing to swap the logic board for one that contains the proper FireWire chip. No promises, of course.
     
  5. Jose Collado

    Jose Collado Guest

    Yupp yupp...extended AppleCare is definitely a wise investment. Those little logic boards have the same price tag as internal organs on the black market.
     
Loading...

Share This Page